2009 Minnesota Tree Farm Awards

Four Minnesota woodland owners were recognized as outstanding tree farmers for 2008. The awards were presented by Bob DeRoche of the State Tree Farm Committee during the Minnesota Forestry Association’s Annual Meeting Banquet held Friday, May 15th.

The following awards were presented:
Zone 1, northwestern Minnesota: Bob and Ingrid Sonnenberg of New York Mills.
Zone 2, northeastern Minnesota: State Senator Tom Bakk, Cook, who is also a carpenter and woodland owner.
Zone 3, central Minnesota: Arden Aanestad, Edina, who has 80 acres of woodland near Emily. Aanestad was also named the Minnesota State Tree Farmer of the Year.
Zone 4, southeast Minnesota: High Ridge Tree Farm operated by the Micheel family.

Tree Farm Inspector of the Year: Finn Ostman, Cook.

The Minnesota Tree Farm program is building a website now, but you can click for more information on the national Tree Farm program.

This announcement originally appeared in the June/July MFA newsletter (PDF).

Eli ‘s work addresses Minnesota forest ecology & management. He’s based in St Paul.

You may also like